Spirograph doilies circles flowers or however these little beauties are to be called…

So what am I going to do now with my little line art beauties?

First I scanned them, something you could not imagine 50 years ago when the spirograph was invented as a toy.
It is impossible to extract them from the white background so I had limited possibilities to add an other background in Photoshop.
Anyway with the blending mode to be found in the layer palette there were some choices. With “subtract”, “difference” and “exclusion” on a beige grungy texture I got very surprising dark effects. The colors of the line graphics changed, almost looked like neons. Perfect!
I played with the outlines/shapes to get different edges.

The prints were a bit pale, because I did not use glossy photo paper, but simple offwhite thick card stock. But I still loved them.
I cut them with my Silhouette Cameo.
Then I colored (as always) the white cutting edges with the edge blending tool which made them look much more interesting.
On some doilies I painted glossy dots with “Glossy Accents”.

And now comes the fun!

Of course you can use them as they are as gift tags. But I just love to make special gift tags and I always need many of them. So I played with the colors, mixed and matched, gave them wings and pearls, brads, gears, ribbon, a raven and a fish.

Have fun and I hope you’ll get some inspiration!

spirograph gift tags

spirograph art circles

printed_spiro_circles

spirograph_tags_making1

spirograph_tags_making

spirograph_tags1

spirograph_tags3spirograph_tags4


 

 

 

One thought on “Spirograph doilies circles flowers or however these little beauties are to be called…

Leave a Reply

