My five favorite tools

I recently have been asked which are my favorite tools. This made me think of what I really don’t want to miss anymore.
Some are very new and some are very old, one is not even mine. Two I had no clue they even exist, but got them from friends.

So here is my list. Have fun!

I start with the oldest, more than 30 years old: my punch I got when I studied fashion design to make holes in leather. Its big advantage is that there is a much higher distance to the edge of an item than with the handy and pretty new little punches and the different sized holes in one tool.

five_fave_tools1

This unspectacular handle is just a heavy weight. It comes from the textile industry to help the pattern stay in place while cutting garments. It is VERY heavy and now I use it for all and everything that may not slip while I work on it. It is on my work table all the time for more than 20 years thanks to a friend. I got it as a gift, because she thought I need this, very thoughtful and so right! We are still close friends, thank you!

five_fave_tools5

This is not mine, but borrowed for good from my partner, who bought this digital gage at the hardware store and never used it. It wandered on my desk and I use it all the time. Mostly I measure my finished product samples for the item descriptions. With one touch you can switch from inch to centimeter, very handy.

five_fave_tools2

This pointy tool is not very old, but you can see already how often I use it. It is hanging on the wall always in place, because I get crazy when I need it and it is covered by stuff. The Craft Pick by Tim Holtz for Tonic Studios. You can get it at the crafts store. I use it for removing little bits from die cuts, pulling thread through tiny holes, making little holes  and maybe some more works I just can’t think of now. Highly recommended.

five_fave_tools3

And this is my number one: the edge blending tool also from Tim Holtz, from Ranger. Last week I got the two little round ones even if the vendor on the crafts show said I don’t need them when I have the big one. This was not true and I am glad I bought them anyway (from an other shop). Now I tried them first time and I LOVE them to color the edges of my die cuts and elements from the electronic cutter. It makes paper crafts look so much better and this is a work I really can relax with. Thank you, Tim!

five_fave_tools4

Leave a Reply

