Beauty bags from waste paper, magazine pages and transparent htv

I found some big sheets of card stock, that I had left over from cutting with the cutting machine. At the same time I found an oversized magazine with beautiful photographs. I knew I had to make something with it. I ended up with these beautiful beauty bags. They don’t look like selfmade at all, it’s almost a pity 🙂


If you want to make one yourself this is what you need:

the sewing machine and a heat transfer press (it also works with the iron, but more difficult)

25 x 45 cm card stock with cut outs
25 x 45 cm paper collage from magazine pages
25 x 45 cm transparent heat transfer vinyl (I used one with glitter)
1 zipper 35 cm length
16 x 20 cm vegan leather
50 x 34 cm lining for inside the bag

First I heat pressed the 3-layer sandwich with magazine pages, then the card stock and on top the transparent htv to get the main material.

Then I made kind of triangles from the vegan leather on both ends of the zipper.

Add the zipper to the main material.

For the side parts of the bag cut 2 stripes 16 x 7 cm.

First sew the short side of the stripe on the bags bottom.

Then you do the side seams.

Inside of the bag there is the magazine paper. So you need a lining.

Close the side seams of the lining and the bottom corners.

Fit the lining into the bag, mark the slits with a pen and make a cut for the side slits.

Fix and sew the lining to the bag at the slits.


The last step is to stitch the lining to the zipper on top. I did this by hand sitting in the sun.

Ok, this was my first ever sewing tutorial I did in english and I was missing all the right expressions. I hope the pictures were self explaining somehow. Maybe I should rather stick with cutting and art tutorials :-).

Leave a Reply

