A look behind the door

Yesterday I had a very special guest:

Johanna, a journalist from our local newspaper, who is writing a series of articles about artists living in our area.
This was a good reason (actually a MUST-DO) to tidy up my workshop, that has become a real mess during the last year.
It was so much fun to meet her and we laughed a lot. She did not know much about electronic cutting machines, so we were creating a little sac in princess style for her daughter.

Johanna took a lot of pictures and I was so glad about my big clearing action, because pics do not hide anything.
Now I am excited about the article and hope it will be published soon.

johanna-und-ich

This was the chance to make my own pictures, too. Most definitely it will not look like that very long :-).
And honestly I still find it messy, but it is a workshop. Maybe you find some solutions helpful for yourself.
Have fun on the little tour!

I started already in January with a new shelf from IKEA to keep all my machines, incl. mini printer, Mint and Xyron in one place, that makes it possible to take them out easily when needed. Who could have known a couple of years ago, that I will have five cutting machines one day. Surely not me!

maschinen

The transparent boxes on top are also from IKEA and cost almost nothing. A great way to keep similar things together and visible. When you have so much stuff you have to see it to find it when it is needed.
In the corner behind the door you can see my wild gears hanging on the wall.
And at the door handle I forgot to take away some of my book projects :-).

tuer

A simple straight box keeps all the heat transfer vinyl rolls.

folienrollen

An assortment of ready-cut sheets I keep in black boxes with colorful labels.
I sell those sheets in my Etsy shop, so I have to have them well sorted. Otherwise it takes ages to pack orders for customers.
The green folder on top keeps the cutting and ironing instructions, that I send with every order.

boxen

On the opposite side you see my work table. I love to work while standing, so it it high, just a board on a cabinet with flat drawers from my fathers former optician shop, just as old as me.
The ironing board is a handy storage place when not needed for ironing.

arbeitsplatte

I keep a big collection of die cuts, scraps, ready cut embellishments and tags in candy boxes. Most of them are test cuts from my own collage sheets and I use them for card making, gift packaging and to dress up packages for customers.

diecuts

And this is the sewing corner.
Since many years I use an industrial sewing machine (left side), a real hard worker I would never give away.
Since one year I have the heat transfer press (the blue thing on the right side), a great addition to the cutting machines.

naehecke

When my mom passed she wanted me to have her old Pfaff sewing machine, which I use now in replacement of a simple machine, that I only used for works the industrial machine doesn’t do: zigzag, embroidery and button holes:
But mom’s Pfaff is from such a fantastic quality, so strong, that meanwhile I do almost everything with it.
And the classic look of this antique machine was just perfect to be used in my latest book for the pictures of the sewing projects.

hutnaehen

One look back and the door will be closed again for the next creative mess starting tomorrow morning …

alles

2 thoughts on “A look behind the door

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.