Making a spirograph drawing into a t-shirt design with the ScanNCut

I did it again!
Two years ago I got my first two sets of wild gears and I had so much fun with it. Now, 2 years later I discovered there are new additions, so I made myself a big gift and ordered 3 more sets.

Again it was so special to unpack them.
This time I did not remove the brown protection paper, that I could clearly see which were my first sets and which are the new parts.
After some playing and trying I made a big ornament, that could be used as a t-shirt design.

What a fun to combine 3 very different techniques:

  • drawing with the spirograph
  • scanning and cutting with the ScanNCut
  • and ironing-on my own drawing on fabric

For the spirograph drawing I used a thick black Stabilo pen (68-series).
The contrasts and image quality were good enough for the built in scanner of the Brother ScanNCut to get all the lines and edges.
I scanned it and saved the data in the machine.

Then I chose gold metallic htv in full size, 12 x 12 in for cutting and after the result was great I just cut another one in copper.
Weeding was a job while watching TV. It took a while…

Lucky who got a heat press. 15 seconds pressing each and my new t-shirts were ready to wear.

Have a great weekend,

Angelika

wild-gears-spirograph1

wild-gears-spirograph2

wild-gears-spirograph3

wild-gears-spirograph4

wild-gears-spirograph5

spirograph-scanncut1 spirograph-scanncut2 spirograph-scanncut3

heattransfer-scanncut

heattransfer-scanncut1

heattransfer-scanncut2

heattransfer-scanncut3

5 thoughts on “Making a spirograph drawing into a t-shirt design with the ScanNCut

  1. Where were you able to find such a large spiral graph kit? I’m on the hunt for such a size for a different application but can’t seem to locate one large enough one.

    Why a great design you created!

    Your help would be greatly appreciated,
    Thanks

    Yana

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.